Comparison · checked 26 September 2026

Later vs Buffer

Buffer is cheaper to start: $5 per channel per month, billed annually against $18.75 per month, billed annually.

At 8 channels the gap changes: Buffer comes to $40 a month against Later's $18.75.

Buffer has a free plan; Later does not.

Later charges flat tiers, while Buffer charges per channel, which matters most as you add channels or teammates.

Later vs Buffer compared
LaterBufferHookpost
Cheapest paid plan$18.75 per month, billed annually$5 per channel per month, billed annually₹599 per month flat
Pricing modelflat tiersper channelFlat tiers, no per-channel fee
Free planNo free plan (14-day trial)3 channels, 10 scheduled posts per channel (refills as posts publish)2 channels, 30 posts a month
Public APINot statedYesYes (Standard and above)
MCP server / AI agentsNot statedYesYes (Standard and above)
Open sourceNoNoYes, AGPL-3.0
Prices in rupees (India)No, USDNo, USDYes, with UPI Autopay
NetworksInstagram, Facebook, TikTok, Pinterest, LinkedIn, YouTube, Threads, SnapchatBluesky, Facebook, Google Business Profile, Instagram, LinkedIn, Mastodon, Pinterest, Substack, Threads, TikTok, X, YouTubeX, LinkedIn, YouTube, Facebook Pages, Bluesky, Discord, Slack, Telegram, WordPress, Dev.to and more (Instagram and Threads awaiting Meta approval)

Sources, read 26 September 2026: later.com/pricing, buffer.com/pricing, buffer.com/mcp. Prices change; confirm on the vendor's page before you buy.

Where Hookpost fits

If you are in India, post mainly to X, LinkedIn, YouTube or community channels, and would rather pay one flat rupee price than a fee per channel, Hookpost is worth a look. It is open source, has a free plan, and ships an MCP server so an AI assistant can schedule for you. If you need Instagram today, choose Later or Buffer for now: Hookpost's Instagram connection is waiting on Meta approval (Facebook Pages work today).

Questions

Is Later cheaper than Buffer?
On the cheapest paid plan, yes, the other way round: Later starts at $18.75 per month, billed annually and Buffer at $5 per channel per month, billed annually. Check how each one counts channels and users before comparing totals.
Does Later or Buffer have a free plan?
Later: No free plan (14-day trial). Buffer: 3 channels, 10 scheduled posts per channel (refills as posts publish).
Is there a cheaper alternative to Later and Buffer?
Hookpost has a free plan (2 channels, 30 posts a month) and a flat ₹599 a month plan for 5 channels, billed in rupees with UPI Autopay. It publishes to X, LinkedIn, YouTube, Facebook Pages, Bluesky, Discord, Telegram and more; Instagram and Threads are waiting on Meta approval.

More comparisons: Postiz vs Buffer · Mixpost vs Buffer · Publer vs Buffer · Metricool vs Buffer · Metricool vs Later · SocialPilot vs Buffer