Comparison · checked 26 September 2026
Metricool vs Later
Later is cheaper to start: $18.75 per month, billed annually against $20 per month, billed annually.
Metricool has a free plan; Later does not.
| Metricool | Later | Hookpost | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cheapest paid plan | $20 per month, billed annually | $18.75 per month, billed annually | ₹599 per month flat |
| Pricing model | flat tiers | flat tiers | Flat tiers, no per-channel fee |
| Free plan | 1 brand (all networks except LinkedIn and Twitter/X), 20 posts per month | No free plan (14-day trial) | 2 channels, 30 posts a month |
| Public API | Yes | Not stated | Yes (Standard and above) |
| MCP server / AI agents | Yes | Not stated | Yes (Standard and above) |
| Open source | No | No | Yes, AGPL-3.0 |
| Prices in rupees (India) | No, USD | No, USD | Yes, with UPI Autopay |
| Networks | Instagram, Facebook, Threads, TikTok, YouTube, Twitch, LinkedIn, Pinterest, Bluesky, Google Business Profile, Twitter/X (add-on), Web/Blog | Instagram, Facebook, TikTok, Pinterest, LinkedIn, YouTube, Threads, Snapchat | X, LinkedIn, YouTube, Facebook Pages, Bluesky, Discord, Slack, Telegram, WordPress, Dev.to and more (Instagram and Threads awaiting Meta approval) |
Sources, read 26 September 2026: metricool.com/pricing, later.com/pricing. Prices change; confirm on the vendor's page before you buy.
Where Hookpost fits
If you are in India, post mainly to X, LinkedIn, YouTube or community channels, and would rather pay one flat rupee price than a fee per channel, Hookpost is worth a look. It is open source, has a free plan, and ships an MCP server so an AI assistant can schedule for you. If you need Instagram today, choose Metricool or Later for now: Hookpost's Instagram connection is waiting on Meta approval (Facebook Pages work today).
Questions
- Is Metricool cheaper than Later?
- On the cheapest paid plan, yes, the other way round: Metricool starts at $20 per month, billed annually and Later at $18.75 per month, billed annually. Check how each one counts channels and users before comparing totals.
- Does Metricool or Later have a free plan?
- Metricool: 1 brand (all networks except LinkedIn and Twitter/X), 20 posts per month. Later: No free plan (14-day trial).
- Is there a cheaper alternative to Metricool and Later?
- Hookpost has a free plan (2 channels, 30 posts a month) and a flat ₹599 a month plan for 5 channels, billed in rupees with UPI Autopay. It publishes to X, LinkedIn, YouTube, Facebook Pages, Bluesky, Discord, Telegram and more; Instagram and Threads are waiting on Meta approval.
More comparisons: Metricool vs Buffer · Publer vs Later · Later vs Buffer