Comparison · checked 26 September 2026
Publer vs Later
Publer is cheaper to start: $4 per channel per month, billed annually against $18.75 per month, billed annually.
At 8 channels the gap changes: Publer comes to $32 a month against Later's $18.75.
Publer has a free plan; Later does not.
Publer charges per channel, while Later charges flat tiers, which matters most as you add channels or teammates.
| Publer | Later | Hookpost | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cheapest paid plan | $4 per channel per month, billed annually | $18.75 per month, billed annually | ₹599 per month flat |
| Pricing model | per channel | flat tiers | Flat tiers, no per-channel fee |
| Free plan | 3 channels, 10 scheduled posts per account | No free plan (14-day trial) | 2 channels, 30 posts a month |
| Public API | Yes | Not stated | Yes (Standard and above) |
| MCP server / AI agents | Yes | Not stated | Yes (Standard and above) |
| Open source | No | No | Yes, AGPL-3.0 |
| Prices in rupees (India) | Yes, localised | No, USD | Yes, with UPI Autopay |
| Networks | Facebook, Instagram, X, LinkedIn, Pinterest, TikTok, YouTube, Google Business Profile, Threads, Bluesky, Mastodon, Telegram, WordPress | Instagram, Facebook, TikTok, Pinterest, LinkedIn, YouTube, Threads, Snapchat | X, LinkedIn, YouTube, Facebook Pages, Bluesky, Discord, Slack, Telegram, WordPress, Dev.to and more (Instagram and Threads awaiting Meta approval) |
Sources, read 26 September 2026: publer.com/plans, later.com/pricing. Prices change; confirm on the vendor's page before you buy.
Where Hookpost fits
If you are in India, post mainly to X, LinkedIn, YouTube or community channels, and would rather pay one flat rupee price than a fee per channel, Hookpost is worth a look. It is open source, has a free plan, and ships an MCP server so an AI assistant can schedule for you. If you need Instagram today, choose Publer or Later for now: Hookpost's Instagram connection is waiting on Meta approval (Facebook Pages work today).
Questions
- Is Publer cheaper than Later?
- On the cheapest paid plan, yes: Publer starts at $4 per channel per month, billed annually and Later at $18.75 per month, billed annually. Check how each one counts channels and users before comparing totals.
- Does Publer or Later have a free plan?
- Publer: 3 channels, 10 scheduled posts per account. Later: No free plan (14-day trial).
- Is there a cheaper alternative to Publer and Later?
- Hookpost has a free plan (2 channels, 30 posts a month) and a flat ₹599 a month plan for 5 channels, billed in rupees with UPI Autopay. It publishes to X, LinkedIn, YouTube, Facebook Pages, Bluesky, Discord, Telegram and more; Instagram and Threads are waiting on Meta approval.
More comparisons: Postiz vs Publer · Publer vs Buffer · Metricool vs Later · Later vs Buffer